DUI / Drunk Driving

Call an Atlanta DUI Defense Lawyer Right Away

Getting charged with driving under the influence (DUI) — known in some states as driving while intoxicated (DWI) — can be frightening. You may never have been charged with a crime before. You may not know what to expect. You need legal help quickly.

Fighting the Serious Consequences of DUI

The charge of DUI — which includes drunk driving but also driving under the influence of illegal drugs or prescription medication — is taken very seriously in Georgia. Even if you have never been convicted of DUI before, you could be facing the following consequences.

Penalties for the First DUI Conviction

  • A mandatory minimum jail sentence of 24 hours for all first time DUI offenders
  • Fine ranging from $300 to $1000
  • 12 months probation, less any time actually served in jail
  • Community service requirements
  • Suspension of your driver's license
  • A clinical evaluation and completion of any necessary treatment
  • Completion of an alcohol or drug risk reduction program

Penalties for a Second DUI Conviction

  • Fines ranging from $600 to $1,000
  • 90 days to 12 months in jail (mandatory 72 hours)
  • A minimum of 30 days of community service
  • Completion of an alcohol or drug risk reduction program
  • A clinical evaluation and completion of any necessary treatment
  • 12 months of probation (less jail time served)

Penalties for a Third DUI Conviction

  • Fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • 120 days to 12 months in jail (mandatory 15 days)
  • A minimum of 30 days of community service
  • Completion of an alcohol or drug risk reduction program
  • A clinical evaluation and completion of any necessary treatment
  • 12 months of probation (less jail time served)

Penalties for a Fourth (or More) DUI Conviction 

  • Fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • One to five years in jail (mandatory three months)
  • A minimum of 60 days of community service
  • Completion of an alcohol or drug risk reduction program
  • A clinical evaluation and completion of any necessary treatment
  • 5 years of probation (less any jail time served)

Our DUI defense attorneys will examine the facts of your arrest and negotiate with the prosecutors to try and get the best possible outcome for your case. Depending on the facts of your case, this could possibly mean getting your case reduced to a lesser offense, like reckless driving.

In Georgia, first and second DUI convictions are misdemeanors. A third DUI conviction is an aggravated misdemeanor. A fourth or more DUI conviction is a felony (if committed within a 10 year period). This is the result of a Georgia law enacted in 2008 aimed at cracking down on repeat drunk driving offenders.

A DUI is a serious charge that requires a serious defense. As an Atlanta criminal defense firm, we specialize in DUI defense and bring years of experience to your case. We are not here to judge you. We are here to defend you.

Protecting Your Driver's License From Suspension

One key part of your DUI defense is to request an administrative license suspension (ALS) hearing right away. This procedure is separate from your criminal charges.

If you do not request a hearing within 10 days of your DUI arrest, your license will be suspended. Requesting a hearing buys you time and may help to save your license.

License suspension can have a major impact on your life. If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you can be charged with "driving with a suspended license" which is a separate criminal offense. And once you get your license back, you may have to pay much higher insurance rates.

Contact an Atlanta DUI defense lawyer at the Law Office of Miracle C. Jackson. We defend people accused of drunk driving and driving under the influence of drugs in the greater Atlanta area, including Fulton County, DeKalb County, Clayton County, Henry County, Fayette County, Cobb County, Gwinnett County and Cherokee County.